Fascinating Animals

Our Amazing and Fascinating Animal Kingdom – click on Fascinating Animals to return to the Home page

What my Cat taught me

cropped-shandy-lying

1.  It is important / essential in life to care for and look after another sentient (living) being.

 2.  Cats can smile.  They have feelings and emotions. 

 3.  Each being knows what he or she needs and is entitled to it and should go for it intutively.

 4.  Every person is responsible for his or her own decisions, as is every cat.

First of all, so I don’t have to write it out again here, please see this post   here   ( on the Our Animal Friends main tab ) to read about our cat Shandy, and to see photos of him.

.

cat-divider
Well, my cat companion of 13 years has taught me firstly that it is important / essential in life to care for and look after another sentient (living) being, whether that be another human being or an animal companion, or a combination of these.  I don’t call our animal friends “pets” or say they are “owned”, but rather I suspect that they “own” us, as opposed to us owning them.

Secondly, my cat friend, Shandy, has shown me that cats can smile. Sometimes when I pat his head, he looks at me with a shining face, his whole face lights up with pleasure, and he smiles with his twinkling, bright, big eyes, and with his lips too – definitely.   If anyone tells you that cats don’t or can’t smile, run away from them immediately.

Next, Shandy taught me that each being knows what he or she needs and is entitled to it and should go for it intutively.   You may have heard that Homo sapiens or “human beings” are the “higher animals”.   Well, I doubt that often, because if that means that human beings are more intelligent and thus able to live together contentedly and in peace, with their needs met, the facts speak for themselves.   We human beings can be a blood-thirsty, greedy, power mongering, dirty tactics, selfish, fraudulent species, and that is being nice about it.

Note, I used the word “needs”.   We Homo sapiens probably all need love and affection, understanding and respect, as well as the basic physical requirements of food, water and shelter.  I think that we don’t need millions of dollars each or a never ending supply of over priced consumer goods to replace the last or because we are never satisfied with what we already have.  We don’t need to rule the whole world or large parts of it, in order to fulfil  “distorted human being” goal number one just mentioned.

I propose that if Homo sapiens actually shared their resources and respected and co-operated with each other (or lived intuitively) as other animal species do, then some of them wouldn’t feel the “need” for self-aggrandisment (showing off their “power” or clout or how important they are), which often involves choosing a mind-set so that they can “put others down” in order to sustain their sense of importance or to make themselves feel more important.

Intention is everything.  My cat has taught me that our animal companions are more aware than many human beings.  Non “Homo sapien” animals live in the present moment of time or in the “now”.   If they have any in-securities about their place in the world, they are usually absorbed from the people they are closely around, or they are real emotions from dangerous situations in their lives, which have become trapped in their energy fields (auras).

Compare this to people, whom I think are in-secure mainly due to not using their intelligence to believe in their own worth, and believing that they need to be “perfect”.

In the wild, carnivorous wild cats and animals hunt and kill for food.  It is said that human beings are omnivorous, adapted to eat both animal and plant products.  However, they don’t stop at that, but have run riot, and like school-children may act in the play-ground, they bully those they are able to bully.

If we as a species were truly aware and intelligent, would we have contributed thus to global warming and to species extinction, and to co-creating a world where so many live in poverty, starvation, hardship, and with little to no human rights in practice?

My cat needs food, water, shelter, love, companionship, understanding and respect.  He knows it and I do.  Whenever I feed him, he intuitively leaves a little food in his bowl, so that he can return to it later when he needs it – he always saves some for a “rainy day” so to speak.   He talks to us or miaows with a definite vocabulary, so we are alerted to whether he is hungry or needs to go outdoors to complete his ablutions (toileting).  These words can be complemented by body gestures, like swishing his tail angrily when he is really hungry.

Shandy scratches the fly-wire when he wants to come indoors or go outdoors and it is no use me shouting at him not to do so.  We don’t have a “cat flap” or cat door installed for him to go and come as he pleases.  He knows if he makes a racket (noise) that someone will meet his goal.   People may say that cats are selfish but our cat has taught me that cats are assertive and that you can “talk” to them or communicate with them.  Sometimes I send messages telepathically to Shandy telling him I really need to have a good night’s sleep so please don’t rattle the wardrobe doors and make a great racket until 5am or 6am so that I can sleep.  It works, and if you want to try this sort of communication yourself, this page  here  may help you.

Of course, I do get cross sometimes with Shandy for making holes in the screens or for waking me up out of a sound sleep at 2am or 3am, or for plonking himself down on the very newspaper or magazine that I am trying to read, or for biting at me when he is in a crabby mood (whereupon I usually say to him aloud “don’t bite the hand that feeds you”, at which he is not impressed).  BUT, here is the clincher.  Shandy was our New Year’s Eve 2000 gift from the Universe.  Notwithstanding that, he will snap at us or scratch if one of us is annoying or scaring him.  He never attacks or warns without provocation.  I love animals and decided on 31 December 1999 to give a sweet little homeless kitten a “home” to call his own.

I cannot un-invite him from this home or punish him because he wants six meals a day sometimes and lets us know it.  If his environment isn’t set up so he can come and go as he pleases, that is not his fault.  We noticed that as he has gotten older, he is waking us up less and less, or in other words he is sleeping when we do and not getting us up so early so many times.  Cats do change over time, at least, ours has.

So, the fourth thing that my cat friend has taught me unequivocally is “responsibility”.  We took him in and are responsible for him.  If out of irritability, we kicked him out of home, he would soon die because he is not a good hunter and there aren’t all that many mice around where we live, so he would starve.

Shandy has give me friendship and the pleasure of having another living being around, and soft fur which I like stroking, and through my being responsible for him, I have grown to realise that I am responsible in certain ways for my own welfare.

If Shandy were a wild cat he would certainly be responsible for feeding himself, but he is a domesticated cat and I have made myself responsible for feeding him.  Through the interconnection of Life, I have learned that responsibility for myself also is a choice I can take.

Thank you Shandy, for these lessons of Life.

Language of Cats

6-reasons-to-be-a-cat

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “What my Cat taught me

  1. Great piece Celine. Our adopted cat communicates with us also. She has grown heavier, but not fat, now that she has regular meals, and lets us know when she is hungry. She also smiles, and the only time she grows cross is when my daughter tries to hold her like a doll, but she never bites or claws her. She even sleeps more contentedly, as she used to wake up at the slightest noise. She is a good cat, and the pleasure she gives us, especially my wife and daughter, makes it all worth while.

Please Leave Your Paw-print Here

