Fascinating Animals

Our Amazing and Fascinating Animal Kingdom – click on Fascinating Animals to return to the Home page

Praying Mantis Medicine

Praying-Mantis3

Maureen Moss says that  “A beautiful portrayal of Virgo’s Divine maternal quality can be seen in the Praying Mantis, whose form actually resembles the shape outlined by the stars of the constellation Virgo.”

Wow, I am quadruple Virgo – the Sun, Uranus, Venus & Pluto in Virgo, with Scorpio rising!

A week ago on Saturday 30 May, Praying Mantis had my back – literally.

If the Praying Mantis comes into your life, the wisdom of this animal totem can be” be calm & peaceful“.

You need to calm yourself down, take it easy, and just blend in with your circumstances.

Well, I had to, anyhow.  Work had been quite stressful for me lately and I was trying to do too much – help various people at work, look after myself ( after an operation last October ) and continue with my other personal pursuits.  Mantis may have hopped onto my back when I was outdoors bringing something indoors.

Whatever the method used so that Mantis “got my back” that day –  I am GLAD and APPRECIATIVE !

My partner and my sister and I were busy assembling a Table Top Soccer ( or Foosball ) game at our dining table, when my sister froze & gave a gasp.  My partner had a look at what she was looking at, which was a beautiful elegant, stick coloured   PRAYING MANTIS  nicely adorning my back!

The Praying Mantis’s Wisdom Includes:

* Ability to manipulate time
* Power to move between moments
* Understanding of the circular nature of time
* Power of stillness
* Female warrior energy
* Attack strategy

He or she was having a rest on my ( black and grey striped ) jumper, and I couldn’t feel it as it was so small and light ( compared to me ), but luckily my sister espied this delicate creature.  Well, my partner scooped up the insect on a sheet of paper and took it out-doors, me in tow with my iPad to take photos.  The creature blended in amazingly with a tree that it was carefully placed onto.  See the picture at the top of this Post!

You can open or save the picture below and then zoom in, to have a good look at my visitor.

Praying-Mantis2

Praying Mantis insects are predators, feeding on insect pests in your garden.  This insect can turn its head 180 degrees and has amazing stereoscopic vision, a “medicine” message to human beings to sharpen their vision.  Don’t try to keep a Praying Mantis as a pet as it has to eat all day, and you will never be able to meet its nutritional requirements.

It also has strong front legs to hold its prey in a vice-like manner, a reminder to people to keep firm hold of what really sustains you.  Yes, I know that the female praying mantis can be cannibals, but hey, that is how their biological system works. I like that the Mantis is showing me to be still and to make my move, only precisely when it is needed.

The Praying Mantis is also patient, perceptive and focused, suggesting this is needed in my Life at the moment.

Scientific classification
Kingdom: Animalia
Phylum: Arthropoda
Class: Insecta
Subclass: Pterygota
Infraclass: Neoptera
Superorder: Dictyoptera
Order: Mantodea
Burmeister, 1838

Adult Size (Length): 50mm to 65mm (1.97in to 2.56in)

Identifying Colors: green, yellow, white, red, brown

General Description: praying, long, stick

Did you know –   ?

The Praying Mantis is the oldest symbol of God ~ the African Bushman’s manifestation of God come to Earth, “the voice of the infinite in the small,”* a divine messenger.

When a Praying Mantis is seen, diviners try to determine the current message. In this culture they are also associated with restoring life into the dead. “Mantis” is the Greek word for “prophet” or “seer,” a being with spiritual or mystical powers.

( Information from:

http://www.souledout.org/earthday/mantis/pm.html )

To me, this Praying Mantis messenger bore me a strong message.

Let “Spirit” guide my way.

I looked at the eyes of my Mantis visitor and felt a breath of fresh air, and a deep Spiritual connection.

 Meet the eye of a Mantis and feel the presence of God.

“Follow Mantis” means putting that core aspect of yourself, your foundation of Spirit, at the helm and let it direct your intellect and ultimately your life.

Thank you Praying Mantis, for coming into my Life!

 

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Praying Mantis Medicine

  1. Whenever I’ve taken a close/sharp photo of a praying mantis, the results are quite sobering. They look highly intelligent and definitely aware of the sudden interest.

    I enjoyed reading the tidbits of trivia; thanks for sharing!

Please Leave Your Paw-print Here

